NGMN Alliance Appoints New Board of Directors for 2014 – 2016 and Reviews Status and Next Steps of the 5G Initiative

Frankfurt, Germany and London, UK, 21st November 2014


On November 13th, 2014, the members of the NGMN Alliance appointed a new Chairman and new Board Directors for the period from 2014 to 2016.

The Board elected Dr. Bruno Jacobfeuerborn from Deutsche Telekom as new Chairman. Under his chairmanship the Board has prioritised 5G use cases, confirmed end-to end operator requirements as well as fundamental design principles for the future network architecture. As an important next step the Board supported a resolution on the communication roadmap of NGMN’s 5G White Paper, starting with the NGMN Partner Forum in January 2015, followed by the press conference at Mobile World Congress on March 2nd 2015 and the Opens external link in new windowNGMN Industry Conference and Exhibition in Frankfurt on March 24th and 25th.

The newly elected Board members for 2014-2016 are:

  • Bruno Jacobfeuerborn, Group CTO, Deutsche Telekom - Chairman
  • Enrique Blanco, Group CTO, Telefonica
  • Hugh Bradlow, Chief Scientist, Telstra
  • Jae W. Byun, CTO, SK Telecom
  • Sandro Dionisi, Director of Engineering & Telecom Italia Lab, Telecom Italia
  • Heleen Elferink, Director Network Development, Ziggo
  • Bulent Elonu, Chief Network Technologies Officer, Turkcell
  • Ibrahim Gedeon, CTO, TELUS
  • Jacob Groote, VP Mobile Operations, KPN
  • Joachim Horn, Group CTIO, Tele2
  • Tom Keathley, SVP – Wireless Network Architecture & Design, AT&T
  • Li Zhengmao, EVP, China Mobile
  • Yogesh Sanjeev Malik, Group CTO, Vimpelcom
  • Alain Maloberti, SVP, Orange Labs & Networks, Orange
  • Seizo Onoe, EVP & CTO, NTT DOCOMO
  • Günther Ottendorfer, CTO, Telekom Austria Group
  • Bruce Rodin, VP Wireless Technology, Bell
  • Kevin Salvadori, Director Group Technology Strategy and Operations, Vodafone
  • Ameet Shah, Group Strategy Director, BT
  • Mats Svärdh, Head of Group Networks and IT Infrastructure, TeliaSonera
  • Tay Soo Meng, Group CTO, SingTel
  • Peter Meissner, CEO, NGMN Alliance


In his concluding remarks, Dr. Bruno Jacobfeuerborn stated: “I am honoured to be appointed as the Chairman of the NGMN Board and want to express my sincere appreciation to the former Chairman Dr. Jae Byun. Under his leadership the NGMN Alliance has grown significantly and has successfully launched the widely-acknowledged NGMN Initiative on 5G. I am fully committed to continue his excellent work and to contribute Deutsche Telekom’s expertise in the Alliance’s efforts to shape the 5G development in the coming years.”



Please follow this link to download the press release: Initiates file downloadNGMN Press Release 21st November 2014